KXIP vs KKR Live Score

The other option that will appear is "Remove for You", which only prevents you from seeing the message, but everyone else in the conversation can still view it. "Delete" only deletes the message in your own inbox.

Global News tested the "Remove for Everyone" feature on Messenger and was successfully able to delete a message from its chat history.

Facebook Messenger is finally rolling out the unsend button it promised almost a year ago.

Once that info came out, everyone who uses Messenger wanted in on the functionality too-and now Facebook is delivering. At the time, Facebook told TechCrunch Zuckerberg's messages were deleted for security purposes. You'll get the normal reaction emoji just above message, as well as some options down below: Copy, Remove, and Forward.

As was first reported on Tuesday by The Verge, Facebook Messenger is introducing its official "unsend" feature. In it, the social media giant notes you can now remove any message that you've previously typed from a text.

Most importantly, for Facebook, that message still remains on its servers.

The company admitted it began erasing the messages of Mr Zuckerberg and a few other top executives in 2014 after computer hackers obtained and released emails from Sony Pictures executives. Selecting the latter will then display two further options: "remove for you" and "remove for everyone". "These included limiting the retention period for Mark's messages in Messenger".

The unsend feature is available to all Messenger users around the world using the latest versions of Apple's iOS and Google's Android operating systems, Facebook confirmed.

The feature, which Facebook claims will give users more control over their conversations, will provide a 10 minute window in which to delete messages.


COMMENTS